what does an open door look like anyway…

21 Sep

It’s been a little over a month since my last post and I have missed sharing with you.  I had a wonderful opportunity over the last several months to participate in a project to commemorate 9/11. Part of that time I juggled with caring for my 2-year-old grandson (who has since moved to Florida).  I was just too pooped to get on the computer and blog.  But I’m back and I can’t wait to tell you about all of the blessings I’ve had the opportunity to experience.

Several months ago on a Friday afternoon, I was approach by PJ D’Amico, Executive Director of RedLine to talk about a project. I told him I would contact him on that Monday – and I did.  That phone conversation led to a face-to-face meeting.  At the time, I didn’t realize that God was opening a door for me and others that I am connected with.

After our face-to-face, I was asked to put together a proposal along with many other particulars attached to getting the project completed.  Let me tell you – had I seen everything that needed to be done, I may have said no on that Friday afternoon.  Primarily, because I wouldn’t have felt adequately qualified for the job. Thank God I responded with a yes,  because looking back I’m glad I took on this project for many reasons.

The Freedom Quilt Experience…

Griego: Quilt display in Colorado Capitol a magnificent comfortThe newly installed Freedom Quilt Experience hangs in the rotunda of the state Capitol on Friday afternoon. The 10 panels, each about 3 feet wide and 16 feet long, were quilted mostly locally, to memorialize the tragic events of Sept. 11, 2011. The quilts are scheduled to hang for a week.
(The Denver Post | Andy Cross)

……………………..

Coverage on The Freedom Quilt ExperienceQuilt hangs in State Capitol for 9/11 anniversary. 9NEWS at 9 p.m. 09/09/11

With this being the 10 year anniversary of 9/11, there were a lot of commemorating events happening.  I was asked to complete a quilt project that would spend a portion of its time as a backdrop to steel artifacts, which arrived in Denver from the World Trade Center towers in New York.  The quilt needed to be quite large and so it was going to require many quilters to complete it.  After researching and reaching out to quilters, the quilt project gained a distinct purpose and a name – “The Freedom Quilt Experience”. I had the pleasure of designing the concept and the quilters interpreted it creatively.  The outcome demonstrates how diverse ideas can work together to create something beautiful.  If you haven’t already, I hope you’ll take a moment to read the Denver Post article.  Tina Griego does a beautiful job of telling the story of The Freedom Quilt Experience.

I wish I could tell you everything, but so much has happened as a result of saying yes to this project (all positive). The answer to the question, what does an open door look like anyway? I can only offer my perspective.  It is not always glistening and screaming “Open me, I’m the door of opportunity you’ve been waiting for.”  It may not look like very much at all. It has to be recognized with the heart and faith.  As for me, I’m quite certain God designed this door especially for me to walk through.  I’m just grateful that I accepted the gift.

I’m getting back on track with my blogging. I’m feeling energized. I know, I owe you 2 new computer screen savers.  I will work on them over the next week.

Until next time – God bless you…

cynthia martin

Leave a Reply

