momentary craziness and hidden gems…

9 Aug

Hello everyone – I realize this is not my usual Friday post, but I was out of town on vacation with my family. I will be back on schedule this Friday.  I wanted to share a little about my trip and the lessons I learned along the way.  Since I’ve been publishing this blog, I am more mindful to look and record the lessons and the beauty in everything I encounter – the hidden and not so hidden gems.

momentary craziness…
Before I left, I allowed myself to become overwhelmed with an assortment of things.  So to the point that when I was getting into the car to run yet another errand, I bumped my head and almost had a world class meltdown right then and there – complete with tears, panting and all. I felt as though I couldn’t take another step.  My daughter was in the passenger’s seat.  “I give up!” I said.  She didn’t look up – I noticed she was listening to her MP3 player and couldn’t hear me.  I needed someone to hear me, so I said it again… “I give up!”  This time she looked at me and replied, “What did you say?”  I answered, “I’m tired.” She responded innocently, “So am I mommy.”  In that moment I recalled something nice my neighbor had done for me. Just that quickly…with that thought and my daughter not feeding into my chaos, I could breathe again.  I thanked God for pleasant thoughts being within my minds reach, and realizing I could get control of the situation. I finished what I could and my family and I went on a much needed vacation.

hidden gems…
Upon landing in Orlando, my first objective was to get a little rest – and I did.  My second objective was to teach my daughter how to search for the hidden gems, those places tucked away from the usual tourist destinations.  It’s amazing what treasures can be found – beautiful sites, beautiful people, amazing history, and lots of intriguing stories. I was connected – I was inspired, and I believe my husband and daughter were too.

what I learned…
One of the things I was reminded of last week is to live in the moment.   I realized (once again) that I can only do one thing at a time and to attempt to do otherwise, over a period of time can culminate in a multitude of health issues (both mentally and physically). I had to convince myself to focus on the task at hand (which is all I could do in that moment anyway), complete it the best I can, move on to the next task and not sweat the things I can’t get to.  I have learned that contrary to the lyrics in Chaka Kahn’s hit song… I am NOT every woman.

In moments that I get lost and distracted in this way, I am brought back to one of my favorite Bible scripture teachings So do not worry about tomorrow; it will have enough worries of its own. There is no need to add to the troubles each day brings. Matthew 6:34 (The Good News Version) With all of the things that present themselves on a daily basis, I have to apply this scripture to myself from moment to moment and from task to task.

Now that I am back, it’s not so shocking that the things I didn’t get to do before I left don’t look as big or important as they did before.

peace and love my sisters…

cynthia martin

2 Responses to “momentary craziness and hidden gems…”

  1. Mekida Hayes August 10, 2011 at 3:11 pm #

    Cyn I love the commentary…Keep up the good work thy good and faithful servant. I hope we can connect soon.

    • soulpositivelyme August 12, 2011 at 5:16 am #

      Thanks Mekida. We need to connect soon. How are you doing?

Leave a Reply

