your 15 minutes is up…

29 Jul

As a child, when I would experience difficult situations, I couldn’t stand it when my mother told me about the less fortunate or recited the infamous “people are starving in Africa” speech.  What? Was hearing about another’s troubles suppose to lessen my hurt and disappointment?  Isn’t it funny – now that I’m a little older and a little less selfish, it all makes sense.  My mom was simply trying to offer me another perspective.

It’s true, there is always someone going through a tougher time…always. And while knowing this doesn’t take away our hurt or disappointment, it certainly puts things in perspective. Things could always be worse.

Perspective is a powerful thing and it is the difference between seeing ourselves as victors or victims. It affects all of the feelings attached to the lens through which we view ourselves and our circumstances.

SO I HAVE THIS 15 MINUTE RULE…
My friends know this about me.  Call me anytime.  I’ll even shed a few tears with you, but you only get 15 minutes of waddle time, then it’s time to wash your face, pray, and move on in faith… The twenty-third Psalm explains it this way… Yeah though I walk THROUGH the shadow of the valley of death, I will fear no evil for thou art with me… I’ll remind you promptly – don’t get stuck in the valley.  And every so often, I need a friend to do the same for me.

I WOULD NEVER MAKE LIGHT OF ANYONE’S DIFFICULTIES…
But as I become older (and I’m okay with it) I’ve come to understand deeply – earth is not my home.  I’ve accepted that I’m not going to live on this planet forever.  Each day I wake up, I’m sincerely thankful.  What will I do with the gift of another day?  I will endeavor to see the beauty in everything and everyone around me.  I will open my heart to live each day purposefully.  I will stretch myself to allow God’s love to flow through me.  And I will not give a moment more than necessary to rehearse what’s wrong with my life.  We know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are the called according to His purpose. Romans 8:28 (KJV) Therefore, I am more interested in seeing what I can learn from difficult situations and what I can share that will perhaps make another person’s journey a little easier.

peace and love everyone…

have an especially blessed day!

cynthia martin

Leave a Reply

