a distinct experience…a different perspective

22 Jul

God is our refuge and strength, a very present help in trouble ~ Psalms 46:1 (KJV)

I had a distinct experience that allowed me to see the power of this scripture from a very different perspective.

this is what happened…
My son was staying with me.  He had found a job within walking distance of our home.  This particular evening, due to a shipment arriving late, he was asked to clock in at 2:00am rather than the usual 10:00pm.  Even though his job was within walking distance, it was cold, and living near downtown, well let’s just say, the streets are not always the safest place to be at night. I told him I would give him a ride – so at 1:30am we left.  As we were driving, we noticed an oddly dressed woman walking, crying hysterically, attempting to flag us down.  At the time, I wasn’t sure, but I thought she had a cast on her left arm. My gut reaction was to pull over and see how we could help her.  My son reminded me of a time when he tried to help a woman whose car had stopped during the holidays a year ago – when he stopped to help her, there were 2 men hiding nearby – he was robbed. He scolded me about my safety.

I drove past her, but something in my spirit was pressing me. I couldn’t forget her and I felt as though I had missed an opportunity to help someone.  I dropped my son off at work and started home.  Driving, I prayed and contemplated looking for her.  Traveling by foot, she couldn’t have gotten very far from where I originally saw her.  I turned the corner onto the street where I live…and there she was. I parked in front of my house and got out of the car.  Calling out, she started walking towards me.  I didn’t know what to expect.

Now face to face, her eyes red and swollen from crying. “My name is Jenna” she said,  as she tried to control her tears, “I’m trying to get to the Samaritan House, I’m lost.” she went on to say, “I fell and dislocated my shoulder at the shelter. They called an ambulance to come get me and take me to the hospital.  I was just released and I was trying to walk back. I’m lost, I’m not from Denver.” She showed me her discharge papers.  The Samaritan House was only 5 minutes from where we were (by car), and the opposite direction from where she was headed.

I convinced her to calm down and explained I would get her there safely.  I told her she is so special to God that He made sure someone was there to help her – especially at that hour of the morning.  “I feel safe.” she told me as we were driving.

I’d never looked at it this way…
On the drive home, I thanked God for allowing me to be the person that was there for her. I thanked Him for keeping her safe and not allowing someone who may have harmed her to pick her up. I reflected on some of the things she shared with me about her journey and how she came to be in the shelter.  At this point she needed to know that God was there for her, and now she does. This experience increased my faith in a myriad of ways.  One thing I know for certain – He is our refuge, our strength, our present help in trouble.

*Out of respect for individuals I meet, I never use their real names without their permission.  For the sake of this story, I am using the name Jenna.

love, peace and blessings

3 Responses to “a distinct experience…a different perspective”

  1. Nita Henry July 22, 2011 at 9:50 am #

    We should always approach our treatment of others as if we were face-to-face with God. We don’t know what form he will come in, so helping “Jenna” could have been bigger than helping a lost woman. God will test us. This could have been your test.

    In a world in which there is so much fear, we are often afraid to help each other. Our capacity to help and serve has diminished at a time when our world needs it most. God gives us the spirit to serve, inherently, but He does not force us to do it.

    The test? Can we draw from our gifts to do what is unexpected?

    I hope so…

    Nita

    • soulpositivelyme July 22, 2011 at 2:18 pm #

      You are so right Nita. I know the press in my spirit was God; not only guiding me to help her, but He was letting me know it was safe to do so. I believe He placed me there at that time for that reason so I could learn to be responsive and so she could get the help she needed. I don’t think I would have been okay with myself had I not been obedient. I would still be wondering if she was okay. Our meeting that night was no coincidence. It happened to help both of us grow – or as you stated, a test. Thank you for your wise insights.

  2. Catheryne j. Queen July 28, 2011 at 11:53 am #

    Gen. 4:9 – “Am I My Brother’s Keeper?” Oftentimes we allow ourselves to become leery because of past (but real) experiences. We allow ourselves to be consumed by our concern for assisting or rescuing those who are close to us. We therefore eliminate or pass up the opportunity to let God really shine through. It’s often hard to simply remember that He is our protector and He is aware of every situation He places before us. This is not to say that we wantonly wander through this world with reckless abandon, forgetting that we live in THIS world and that THIS world is filled with trouble and not only at 1:30 am, but 24/7, satan is roaming, seeking and often devouring.

    We are frequently called upon to exercise faith by stepping outside the proverbial box, outside our comfort(able) zone and even more so, outside OURSELVES, to accomplish the mission God has orchestrated for us. When we do, in the end (as you have) realize that He has ordained us for purpose in THIS world, and that is to exemplify Him in THIS world so that others may experience His love and kindness through us. We are His witness in THIS world.

Leave a Reply

