a metaphor for NO

15 Jul

I had a vision this morning.  Imagine a boundless ocean – cerulean…calm. I watched a woman slowly immerse. Her loose fitted white gown translucently reflecting the sea’s blue-green and mimicking her movements as she fought to swim to the top. I looked up, I could see her point-of-view.  Suddenly, I was she. The lights shining through the water’s surface diminished as the distance enlarged between us.  Tired of fighting, I paused. It was then I felt something heavy attached to my right ankle – it was weighing me down. I looked to see what it was. There were so many hands gripping me… so many people. (07.11.11 journal entry)

The meaning of the vision was clear and simple to understand. Watching the woman from a distance and then suddenly seeing it from a point-of-view perspective let me know that other women would be able to relate to what I saw.  Many of us have an inclination to nurture and get involved beyond what is healthy for us personally.  The hands gripping my ankles in the vision represent the people, projects and distractions in my life, and the fading lights were my own hopes and dreams slowly slipping away.

I prayed urgently because the idea of not living my purpose –  the things God has created me to do is my one true fear. If God took the time to show me such a powerful vision, there must be something I can do.  There must be a solution.  I needed an answer. I waited, the answer came – it’s as simple as saying “no.”

Not only is it okay to say “no,” but sometimes it is necessary in order to empower others who are sinking with us to release us, and swim for themselves.

I realize this particular blog entry may not be for everyone, because I know women who do not have a problem saying no, and I applaud you.  But if you are one of those women, and you know of someone this blog entry would encourage, please share it with them.

peace, love and balance…

cynthia martin

6 Responses to “a metaphor for NO”

  1. Bobbi July 15, 2011 at 8:30 am #

    This is a good word! Thank you for your message. I have had issues with saying, “no.” I’ve learned that if I make goals then I am better able to accept or decline invitations, projects, and favors. Understanding my purpose and the goals that can get me there relieve my stress from saying no when the invitations, project, and favors don’t line up. I know now that It is okay to politely say no without explaination or the feeling of guilt.

    • soulpositivelyme July 15, 2011 at 2:02 pm #

      I’m getting there Bobbi. I’ve made some progress, but I know I have a little ways to go. One thing I can say is that I always feel good when I say “no”, mean it and understand that it was the right thing to do. I agree with you, having a better understanding of ones purpose and goals puts everything in perspective. Thank you for your words of wisdom.

  2. Lady Tina Combs July 15, 2011 at 12:34 pm #

    I tell myself, “go sit on the bench, you are not supposed to play in this game.” Sometimes, the most difficult person to say ‘no’ to is our self. We profess that God is Lord of our life and if He is Lord, then He should have complete control. However, often times, we do not allow God full control because we are in the way (on the court, on the field). God wants to help us and take care of our concerns, but we won’t allow Him his rightful place in our life. Thus, I must bench myself, tell my flesh ‘no’, so that God can be God in my life. Jesus says that to be His disciples, we must first deny ourselves; tell our self ‘no’. Jesus further says to us in the same passage (Matthew 16:24), if we tell the flesh (self) ‘no’, we will find our life in Him, and we will complete every assignment God has given us for the advancement of His Kingdom. Be blessed.

    • Lady Tina Combs July 15, 2011 at 12:38 pm #

      My comments were to be a response to a ‘metaphor for ‘no’, not a reply to Bobbi’s response. I apologize. Still becoming familiar with blogging.

    • soulpositivelyme July 15, 2011 at 2:08 pm #

      Thank you Lady Tina Combs. I love the analogy you used. I hope you won’t say “no” when I ask you to contribute an article to the soul positively me blog. You have always been an awesome example. And as for your blogging – you are doing just fine. Love you…

  3. Bobbi July 18, 2011 at 11:16 am #

    Hi Lady Tina Combs- I enjoyed your response and agree with Cynthia; you’ve got the blogging down pat. 🙂 Love you guys!

Leave a Reply

