do you know who I am…well do you

8 Jul

Fearfully and wonderfully ~ that’s how you were created.  The essence of you.  Everything about you rested in the mind of God before the foundations of the earth until the day you were born. He thought about you too long to make a mistake. From the core of your soul to the depth of your heart, you are all the way through…you. (journal entry 12.03.03)

Sometimes I wonder if the people that know me “really know” who I am.  So I did a little experiment and asked several of them a question, “Do you know what things matter most to me?”  When I asked the question, I noticed the look on their faces, kind of a “caught off guard” or “is this a trick question?” expression,  but they were all kind enough to provide an answer. Each answered correctly, generally speaking, but many of them couldn’t pinpoint a deeper answer.

Hmmm… I asked myself, is this because they can’t see me?  Is it because I have not been clear? Maybe a little of both? Definitely both. I had been so busy doing things that I hadn’t taken the time to express myself.  How could they have seen me?  How could they possibly have known?

The beautiful thing is that the individuals I asked wanted to know the “deeper answer” to the question.  I took the opportunity to share, and just that quickly, the dynamics of our interactions changed in a satisfying way. Finally they see me.

What did I learn?  I need to share my thoughts and passions more often.  I need to establish healthy boundaries so that others can clearly see where I stand.  I need to simplify my life, slow down, breathe and come back to center – everyday.  The essence of who I am had a difficult time shining through all of the busyness in my life.  It’s time for a shift and I must be the catalyst for change in me.

8 Responses to “do you know who I am…well do you”

  1. Steven Ware July 8, 2011 at 7:49 am #

    Excellent words Cynthia, Thank you…that last line is especially powerful!

  2. soulpositivelyme July 8, 2011 at 7:53 am #

    Steven, it’s so nice to connect with you. How is life? I’m glad that the things I’m learning in life can mean something to someone else. Thanks for commenting.

  3. Dashonda July 8, 2011 at 8:24 am #

    You are such and inspriation to us! The things I have learned just from your post amaze me. It brings to light things you realize about yourself but until it is in black and white you are blind to them. I have come to love myself more and not to let others around me bring me down. Love you and Thanks for your encouragment.

  4. soulpositivelyme July 8, 2011 at 8:33 am #

    Dashonda, this blog has helped me too. I believe it’s God’s gift to me. It makes me think and write about things that I would otherwise ignore. It’s been an accountability piece for me. It does my heart good to know that it is God’s gift of inspiration to you. It makes it worth doing. Thank you for encouraging me! Love you too special lady!

  5. Debra hall July 8, 2011 at 10:10 am #

    The thought that came to my mind is, we are always changing, learning and finding out new things about ourselves, so that means those same friends that we surveyed need to be asked the same questions again. Why, because there maybe new tidbits for us to learn about you, me and whoever. God makes deposits into our lives to give out. P.s. we have been friends for over 20 years and you continue to amaze me!

    • soulpositivelyme July 8, 2011 at 10:51 am #

      Excellent observation Debra. One that I overlooked. Advice I will take to heart. Perhaps they won’t look so strangely next time I ask (smile). Meanwhile, I’m going to work on being clear about my true self and when I approach them again, their answers should help me know that I am making progress. I love you my dear friend.

  6. threesisters3 July 8, 2011 at 11:45 am #

    Your words connected to something that has been a challenge for me and that is “to be clear”. What do I want and what am I projecting? There is my story. It has been a lifelong journey to the awareness and acceptance that what I want and what I am projecting are at odds.

    • soulpositivelyme July 8, 2011 at 12:59 pm #

      Perhaps we can find ways to support one another on this journey. I happen to think you are a FABTABULOUS (a made up word) person. You are a giving, creative, and determined individual. All wonderful qualities for people to perceive about you. I know you love quilting. Tell me something else you are passionate about.

Leave a Reply

