beautiful – every one of us…

20 Jun

Normally, I post every week, but believe it or not, I was at a loss for words this past Friday.  I typed up two other posts, but didn’t publish either of them.  I will save them for another day. I prayed for direction and finally I feel as though there is something to be said.

During the past couple of weeks I’ve had several extraordinary experiences while spending time with many awesome, wise women.  Women of faith who prayed, cried, rejoiced and sang together as they shared some of their most personal stories.

The “Celebration of Woman” conference presented by the beautiful women of Christ’s Church Apostolic provided an amazing experience for my daughter and I.  The theme was “God’s Woman: Captivating”  – Psalms 45:13.  This conference was all about the beauty that every woman possesses.  The theme of the conference was inspired by a book entitled “Captivating – Unveiling the Mystery of a Woman’s Soul” by John and Stasi Eldridge. So of course I purchased the book while I was there and so far, I am enjoying it.

If you haven’t noticed yet, this is a very important topic for me.  One of the reasons I committed myself to this blog is because I believed that it would provide an excellent opportunity to serve as a constant reminder to every woman who reads it – that they are “fearfully and wonderfully made” while addressing some of the real life situations that many of us encounter. Experiences that can block our view of self and purpose.  I believe that by sharing our stories, our triumphs and our wisdom – we can encourage and strengthen one another in many ways.

Back to the book, it is revealing in terms of some core challenges we face as women, because we were created women. The very things that make us so special are the same things that can be the source of insecurities and pain. I’ll only give you one example (just in case you haven’t read the book yet and decide you would like to read it).  A woman’s desire to be in a loving relationship has everything to do with her purpose for being created.  You know the story: And the LORD God said, [It is] not good that the man should be alone; I will make him an help meet for him. Genesis 2:18 (KJV) Eve was created for a specific purpose, she was created with many special qualities (externally and internally) that are specific to women, and she was “captivating.” As I was reading, I began to reflect on conversations I’ve heard among women – praying and hoping to meet and fall in love with that special man.  It all made sense to me.  Many women begin to question themselves, maybe if I were_____________, (you fill in the blank) the man of my dreams would love me, or the one that I am with would love me better.

The truth of the matter is this, whether or not a man ever appreciates the beautiful woman each of us are – we are still fearfully and wonderfully made. We should always walk in our beauty, head held high and secure in ourselves. There is something especially beautiful about a woman who knows who she is and is comfortable with it. Perhaps there will always be a deep down desire to fall in love, get married and live happily ever after and there is nothing wrong with that, but we must never settle, never stop loving ourselves and never, never forget how precious and special we are to God and each other.

love you all and God bless!

p.s.
If you have a story or words of wisdom that you would like to share – please email me at crmartincan@gmail.com to schedule an interview.

3 Responses to “beautiful – every one of us…”

  1. Nita Mosby Henry June 21, 2011 at 10:45 am #

    Your thoughts are beautifully written! As women, we have to remember, reclaim, redefine and re-establish the depth of who we are as women. Our purpose is much deeper than relationships with men. My judgment has always been our purpose has more to do with our ability to shape the world around us. We have the unique ability to directly shape the lives of others, the policies in our world and the culture and vibe of every room we enter. That is a gift…but like every gift, you have to have gratitude in receiving it and then, you have to know what to do with the gift.

    • soulpositivelyme June 21, 2011 at 11:08 am #

      Nita, your words of wisdom are powerful! You’re forcing me to reveal a little bit more of the book… Eve was the crowning jewel of creation. She was something special, as we all are! As God looked at everything He had made, it wasn’t complete, there was still something missing and that something was woman. You are so right, our purpose is much deeper than we often know. We undoubtedly hold a significant place in this world, a place and space that only our unique qualities can fill. My prayer is that every women would see herself in the light of her giftedness, and as you said, be thankful and walk confidently in it!

  2. Candy L. Martin June 24, 2011 at 9:40 pm #

    When a woman really loves God and spends time with his word and surrounding herself with powerful, healthy, positive things and people, that woman will most certainly be blessed and highly favored by God the give of all. All things are possible with God!

Leave a Reply

