I think, therefore I am or am not

3 Jun

Can’t help coming back to this thing about perception.  We are what we think we are.  Proverbs 23:7 (KJV) says it like this “For as he thinketh in his heart, so is he:”

So the question becomes, how do we perceive ourselves? And if we are not who we’d like to be or accomplishing the goals we’d like to accomplish, how do we change our perceptions?  What does it take for us to move into a place of peace, positivity and accomplishment (accomplishment being relevant)?  I’m not an expert by any means, but I can share what I’ve learned over the years.

The first thing I had to do is accept that my journey to “better” is an inside job. I had to be open to personal change in order to experience personal growth. Even though at times growing pains seem unbearable, they have always brought about positive change. This was and is to me about personal accountability, humility (no, I can’t be right all of the time), and listening.

The second thing I had to learn is that the only person I can change…is myself.  Each person’s journey is their own. I’ve learned that I am not qualified to determine or judge another person’s journey – but I can be supportive.

The third thing I discovered was that I had to see myself the way God sees me. “For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, saith the LORD, thoughts of peace, and not of evil, to give you an expected end.”  Jeremiah 29:11 (KJV). Meditating on this and similar scriptures have helped me to release many of my insecurities and fears – and start perceiving myself in a different light.

The fourth thing I’ve learned was/is to walk in a spirit of gratitude. “In every thing give thanks.” 1 Thessalonians 5:18 (KJV) With each day, this is becoming more and more natural for me. I see myself as blessed and therefore I am grateful.

I understand that many of us have a lot to overcome and I believe we can! Growing up spiritually is a perpetual process. How we perceive ourselves is just one part of that process and this post is simply food for thought.

Love you all, remember that we are fearfully and wonderfully made, and encourage someone today!

6 Responses to “I think, therefore I am or am not”

  1. renetta June 4, 2011 at 1:07 am #

    amen. i can truly appeciate this in this season of my life. i am encouraged. thank u

  2. soulpositivelyme June 4, 2011 at 8:54 am #

    Renetta, I’m so glad you used the word season. I am encouraged because you are encouraged. The great thing about all of this is that we never have to be stuck. As you move through this season in your life, I hope you are writing in your journal because there are things you will learn that you can share that will encourage someone else.

    peace and love!

  3. Candy L. Martin June 6, 2011 at 7:07 am #

    When I wake up in each day, I think…#1 God you are so awsome. The earth speaks of your mighty works. #2 Thank you for allowing me to see another day to be prosperous in purpose for myself and others. #3 Lord please allow someone to be touched by my words and deeds that will cause them to want to know you Lord. I think about what does God want to see today in me and in world. Love…. before he comes back to rapture the church.

  4. Nita Mosby Henry June 6, 2011 at 12:18 pm #

    I wake up each morning in awe of what God has created in me. I knew at a very young age that I was someone special and my journey now is to influence others in a way that allows them to feel and experience what I have always felt and experienced. Our individual gifts are transferable…we just have to remember to transfer them.

    • soulpositivelyme June 6, 2011 at 12:53 pm #

      Candy and Nita, what an awesome place to be in. To wake up in the morning and recognize the awesomeness of God our creator. What a wonderful foundation to a purpose-filled day. Thank you both for such inspirational words of wisdom.

  5. Paula June 8, 2011 at 9:44 am #

    When thinking about perception I often think back on times when I’ve meet someone who told me they had watched me for years and had a certain perception of me. After our meeting they realized that there perception of me was not accurate. It’s amazing how people can perceive a person to be one way but after spending time and getting to know them they find the truth.

    At this point in my life I’m not as concerned with the perception of others of me because no matter how we want to be perceived it all comes down to are we being who God wants us to be? God does not have a perception of us because he already knows everything about us, even to the numbers of hair on our head.

    So I am now on a mission to be a blessing to all that I come in contact with, and with the help of the Lord I will become all that he has called me to be. Yes, a fearfully and wonderfully made woman of God.

    God bless and love to you all and I pray that you have a blessed week.

Leave a Reply

