health…where to start?

27 May

healthy, happy and freesoul positively me opens the doors for many conversations surrounding spirituality, being positive, self-acceptance, love, being thankful, and life in general.  I wanted to take a moment to address our health and remind us all (because I think we already know) how important it is to take care of ourselves.

Yesterday I had an opportunity to spend time with an inspirational young lady (I’ll share more about her at a later date) who is heading up an effort supportive of women who are living with HIV/AIDS in the Denver area.  We started with a wonderful lunch consisting of several tasty salads, and I was reminded of the importance of my health.  We had rich conversation about healthy families, parenting, healthy self esteem and attitudes.  It is amazing how all of these tie together.  Healthy bodies included.

I have a tendency to start off strong, whether it be working out at the gym or eating healthier.  For one reason or another I end up only being able to testify about “the time when I…” Of course I have my strengths just like you, but I seriously want to eat healthier without falling off of the wagon.  My reason is clear.  I know my body is God’s temple.  Staying as healthy (mentally, physically and spiritually) as I can allows me to live a quality life, especially as it relates to the work I believe God has given me to do.  Yesterday’s luncheon inspired me. We must be healthy so we can support one another.

Am I the only one?

I believe many of you have something to share about health.  What has worked for you? What tips or resources can you tell us about? Do you have any healthy recipes?  How do you make time? What are your greatest challenges?

I hope you will share your thoughts.  We all have some answers. What are yours?

peace and continual blessings to each of you…

3 Responses to “health…where to start?”

  1. Karon Majeel May 27, 2011 at 6:16 pm #

    Oh, Cynthia! God is so wonderful and I thank Him for you!
    I started today with a follow-up visit regarding a nagging — and at times, debilitating — pain in my shoulder I’ve been experiencing for the past few months. Today my doctor and I discussed my treatment plan and follow-up care and I am very optimistic. Not for any factual reason, but because I have faith there’s too much for me to accomplish for this to continue indefinitely.
    This temporary health challenge forces me to once again re-examine my total well-being. (I even took advantage of the wait time this morning to read “In the Meantime” by Sista Vanzant. By the time my doctor was ready for me, I was truly ready to discuss my health, positively, with her.
    We all know our tests and testimonies are, frequently, as much for others as they are for us. When I saw today’s topic, I felt compelled to post a comment.
    Sista-friends, girlfriends, women everywhere, please be good to yourselves. Care for your hearts, soul, spirits, bodies and minds. Our ability to help others depends on our wellness, too, not just our works.
    Love you and miss you, Cynthia. Karon

  2. soulpositivelyme May 27, 2011 at 6:28 pm #

    Karon, did you know I keep all of your healthy recipe emails? I keep them because I know I will use them one day. Today is the one day! I’m going to do more than read them. I’m going to start planning for a healthier lifestyle and then walk in it! Thank you for that!

    I see the heart you have and it’s never just about you. You have always been on the lookout for others. What a wonderful quality to possess. You’re right, there is so much more for you to do and so I am proud of you for going to the doctor to get your health in order.

    I love you and miss you too! Denver misses you!
    cynthia

  3. Candy L. Martin May 28, 2011 at 1:39 am #

    To all the women who really love life. Taking care of ourselves is so vital. Being balanced with daily activities, careful not to over do staying bussy. Please remember that even God rested from all he had created. Eating good should always be first in our minds expecially when we have to raise children. Our children are learning from what we do more than what we say.
    People talk about what they need to do but often times find themselves not doing it. It takes discipline, committment and passion to follow through with what we know and believe is right to do. The scripture tells us to “be ye doers of the word and not hearers only.” We must remember that when we really make up our minds to do the right thing concerning our health, it’s not hard at all. We love it because we know it is the right thing to do and it will bless us in the long run. What a great example to live for our children. To God be the glory for the great things he has done. Love you all, Candy Martin

Leave a Reply

