distinguishments…

13 May

As I was on my way to work not long ago, I pulled up to a stop light.  To my left, I noticed a woman. I would have guessed us to be close in age. I will call her Leslie for the sake of this article. She was holding a sign written in marker on cardboard.  I don’t remember what it said.  I rolled down my window. She asked me to pray for her, that God would bless her with a job.  I felt a strong connection and Leslie remains in my thoughts and prayers.

It’s funny, I’ve passed by many women standing on street corners holding signs, sharing their stories and asking for help, but there was something very different about my encounter with Leslie. I could see in her eyes how difficult it was for her to be on that corner. Leslie allowed me to see our similarities – she and I have more in common than not. I was also reminded that in today’s economy, not much stands between many people, that street corner and a cardboard sign.

I guess what I am trying to say is that it is important to pause from time to time.  It is difficult to make real connections if we are moving too quickly through life.  If we pause, love and compassion would have an opportunity to express itself in deeper ways. We would be able to connect with one another on deeper levels.  When we take the time to connect, we are less likely to judge and more likely to extend understanding; and even if all we have to offer is a an ear, a shoulder and a prayer, for some that would be more than enough.

I will never forget Leslie.  I look for her each time I pass that particular intersection. I continue to pray and I’m always thinking, Lord, please keep her safe and bless her to find a job.  Since I’ve only seen her one other time, I’d like to believe that He already has.

Til next time, everyone have a blessed week…

2 Responses to “distinguishments…”

  1. Candy L. Martin May 21, 2011 at 6:50 pm #

    Distinguishments……..There is something that distinquishes us all as human beings. DNA. God has so masterfully created us unique. We are distinquished in so many ways just knowing this. Our character and the way we talk and move and respond to things. I’ve often said to many when teaching that God is the master Artist. God is so creative when you think about space, stars, moon, sun, and the planets. Wow! scripture even tells us we are made in his likeness. We are fearfully and wonderfully made.
    When we process thought and appreciate the ability to do so, we will see that everything God created is good and all to be appreciated. Love Sis. Candy Martin

Leave a Reply

