soul food diet

27 Jun

Several posts ago I talked a little about health.  I also made a commitment that I would hold myself to the things that I write about. It’s never enough just to know better…

Click here for several other wonderful salad recipes.

So I’ve been discovering lately that I really love salads and I wanted to share a recipe with you that I found pretty delightful!

1 bag of Fresh Express Strawberry Fields Salad Kit (Baby spinach, dried sweet strawberries, toasted sliced almonds and strawberry vinaigrette dressing)

1-3 Strawberries

1 Kiwi

A few thin slices of red onion

1 grilled, broiled or baked chicken breast – cook seasoned to your taste and slice. (optional)

Toss spinach in strawberry vinaigrette dressing. Build each salad individually. Spinach first and then top with all of the other ingredients.

…………………..

I’m really excited about not only starting, but maintaining a healthier diet.  I fully expect to see and enjoy the results of my commitment.

While I was thinking about this physical diet, my mind went back to a spiritual diet I participated in at church years ago (this is the soul portion of the diet).  For the record, when I use the word diet, I’m not speaking of a specific diet like Jenny Craig or Weight Watchers, but more of a lifestyle change. I’m thinking more along the lines of the definition of the word diet -  The kinds of food that a person, animal, or community habitually eats.

The spiritual diet is simply to exchange a bad habit for a more positive one.  Much like we do when we are working on our physical health where we may exchange simple carbohydrates for more fruits and vegetables. An example might be for a person who complains a lot to be mindful and replace the urge to complain with an opportunity to be thankful.  They say that 21 days a habit does make. What a wonderful chance to work on both our physical and spiritual well being all at once.

If you have a recipe, whether it be a food recipe or a recipe for life, please share it with the rest of us…

love, peace, blessings and enjoy your day!

One Response to “soul food diet”

  1. Lee Ann June 29, 2011 at 7:02 am #

    Great recipes…for the body and the spirit!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,588 other followers

